January Meditation

SONY DSCI felt such affinity for all those “so relieved 2013 is over” facebook posts.  I wondered why so many of us had a challenging year.  We all have 2014 Big Hopes for newness, change, and opportunity.

Well.  Remember the beginning of 2013?  Pretty sure we were excited then too.  It’s an important human ritual to regularly Let Go and Revision.  We also do it at birthdays, Easter, Rosh Hashanah, and full moon ceremonies.

I set (and posted) my intention, to Step Out more.  I’ve spent over a year in mold recovery and am plain tired of my own cooking.   This includes reaching out and calling someone every day for a free coaching session.  Took me exactly two days to fall behind on that one.

Creating hope and intention is important, and we must remember this will not prevent lapses in our vision and effort.  2014 will have highs, love, accomplishment, and success.  It will also bring illness, crisis, despair, and loss.  We don’t get to avoid those~it’s part of the Human Deal.

Rumi says to “meet them at the door laughing.”   That they arrive to clean out the house and prepare us for whatever is next.  Laughing may seem a stretch; I usually aim for equanimity and acceptance.   To remember they are GUESTS.

The guests take time and often precipitate the lapses in my lofty intentions.  Of course I want them to leave so I can have more space.  You know how that usually goes.  Either the guests stay longer than I want, or a new one shows up.

Which leads to a New Intention.  Carry on no matter who’s in the house.  I can Step Out and just bring them along.  I figure I’ll arrive at 2015 with a full house, so I may as well begin to appreciate them all.

Leave a comment